General, ICT

Hello VicPLN 2013

It’s great to be back on Gobal2 and part of VicPLN 2013. I’ve learned a great deal following past participants in this PD program on Twitter, and I’m looking forward to meeting new people and learning more.

I started my first blog (this one) in 2009 when I moved to the country and returned to part-time teaching two years after the sale of my computer software publishing business. This coincided with my eldest daughter’s first year of school. Spending half a day each week volunteering at her school rekindled my passion for teaching – my first career. I began accepting part-time teaching positions including a six month post in a year 5/6 class with 1:1 netbooks at Winters Flat Primary School in Castlemaine.

I was a rusty teacher in 2009, and I learned a great deal during that first six months at Winters Flat. One of the most important things I learned, thanks to Rob Sbaglia, was the motivational power of blogging. Writing for a real audience of parents and peers, not just the teacher, is incredibly empowering for students. I’m still learning new things about blogging, and I’m in awe of teachers like Kathleen Morris and Kelly Jordan who’ve demonstrated just how engaging and productive it can become.  My most valuable PD experiences in recent years have been participating in the Google Teacher Academy and the Powerful Learning Practice Network. These expanded my Professional Learning Network exponentially. Some of my Google Certified Teacher colleagues and fellow PLP Peeps were former participants in VicPLN. They are all great people! That’s another reason why I’m so happy to be part of VicPLN 2013.

If you browse my older posts on this blog you might notice the large number that are dated 1 Feb 2010. That’s not because I started with a rush, but because my old 2009 posts were restamped with a 1 Feb 2010 date when they moved from my expiring DEECD Global Student blog to this newer DEECD Global2 platform. After twelve months away from Global2, mostly on Google+, I’m returning to record my learning journey with VicPLN 2013. I can’t wait to connect, to learn, to share and to add more great people to my PLN.

One thought on “Hello VicPLN 2013

  1. Hi John,
    It’s so great to have you along on the PLN for 2013, and I look forward to reading your posts as you progress through the course this year. I will also look forward to picking your brain about Google+ and how you’ve been using it.
    Your story of reconnecting with teaching is fascinating. It sounds like you are already very well connected and while you might find that you are familiar with many of the tools we look at in the course, hopefully we can help you connect even more with great educators.
    Looking forward to learning with you.
    Cam

Leave a Reply

